Submitted by lattecoffeegirl t3_101hi2v in MachineLearning

So I will directly dive into the problem setting and will later describe the background:

data: survival data of ~3000 patients with several clinical and lab(blood) parameters.

question: does 1 of the parameters has any influence on the survival time?

what I have done so far: non proportional multivariate hazard model (Cox regression) problem: highly correlated variables, strong time interaction, some hardly not normal distributed variables (even after transformation)

QUESTION: Is there a machine learning / AI solution for this problem question?

background: I am a PhD student in medicine and did intensive mathematics together with my colleagues. But we only had one „old-fashioned“ statistics professor, who answered us for our problem: „seems like your data isn‘t good enough, and you can‘t explore something there, cause its far too complex“ We first want to get an intuition if our theoretical findings can be proved in the data, before we will plan a new study. I reformulated our problem a bit, we are not dealing with the death of patients, but with time of an specific event.

I am really grateful for any ideas, any sources where to look at and everything which could help 😊😊 Thanks in advance!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

avocado-bison t1_j2nmiff wrote

Bayesian networks spring to mind, with wanting to identify what contributes to the death event and whatnot.

Biggzlar t1_j2p5q4p wrote

I recently finished Pearl's "Book of Why" and iirc BNNs do not capture causal relationships between variables. So finding a strong association between a lab value and years of survival does not necessarily indicate that one led to the other.

In other words, a strongly associated lab or clinical value might actually be the result of a longer survival (or other compounding factors) and not the other way around.