Submitted by j2000d t3_112jtla in Pennsylvania

Hi! I'm thinking of planning a surprise trip to Cherry Springs with my gf. I'm targeting the weekend of March 25th but I'm relatively new to stargazing and stuff and had a few questions about this whole thing.

Is Cherry Springs worth it? It would be a 5 hour drive for us. We live outside of Philly and any other suggestions would be awesome!

Is March/beginning of April a good time for this? Or is it better in the summer?

If we do go to Cherry Springs, where should we stay? I was thinking stay in a hotel close by and drive there in the middle of the night. Or are there places where you can get great views basically just from your hotel nearby?

I've done my research on stargazing etiquette, but any answers to the questions above would be super helpful. Thank you!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

GelandeStrasseJr t1_j8kp0in wrote

Cherry Springs State park is definitely worth the 5 hour drive. I’m south of Pittsburgh (it’s about the same distance) and I’ve taken that trip a few times over the last few years.

It’s a dark park - no white light permitted in certain areas. So TAKE RED LIGHT FLASH LIGHTS !!!

When driving late at night you’ll need to park your car in a lot and walk a short distance into the Star gazing field. Red light Flash Lights !!!

You probably already know that that park is the darkest area along the eastern seaboard. There’s zero light pollution- so you’ll see more stars EVERYWHERE. if you know a few constellations, look for them ; you’ll see double the stars when at that park.

There really aren’t meteor showers during March - but it’s still worth the trip. Hotels aren’t close- but midnight drive in that area can be pleasant / just be careful of deer and snowy road conditions. You’ll literally be in the middle of the largest forest in Pennsylvania- so make sure you’re prepared and your car is in excellent condition.