Submitted by dombeale t3_11v8fcp in askscience

I am a sound engineer for theatre shows in the UK, and a fairly established one at that, so my whole job is achieving consistency in the sound of every show, 8 shows a week.

I regularly find that when I am doing two in a day, I perceive the show in the afternoon as quieter than the one in the evening. So it led me to think, is this caused by factors that I can control? If I got a better sleep, or drank more water in the morning, would this change?

What effects do hydration and tiredness have on our hearing and ability to perceive sound levels? Any other interesting factors that may affect this?

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

VT_Squire t1_jcscxzq wrote

Dehydration, emotional or physical stress, and poor sleep hygiene can all result in reduced blood flow to the broca region of the brain, which is crucial for speech and audio processing. This is most frequently identified due to speech issues like gibberish or slurring (i.e., some of the more extreme/exotic symptoms of ptsd), but it also can manifest as hearing issues. Google up Broca's Aphasia for more information on that. Due to the fleeting and temporary nature in which most experiences of altered hearing occur in otherwise healthy people, this connection usually only registers with people who have another persistent issue which is the underlying cause. You, a little bit outside of the norm with a trained ear and all, seem to have cued in on this. Right idea, right observation.

Try to relax, drink water, maybe try resting the day before a show. Avoid the salty foods, maybe do some pushups to keep your heart-rate going between shows. The best solution is all going to depend on how you're built.

sunkistandsudafed3 t1_jcticpi wrote

Thats really interesting. I wonder if this is why after a night shift I struggle to speak and music sounds a bit distorted.

SkoomaDentist t1_jct8v28 wrote