Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Samael13 t1_j92go1o wrote

"Why pay for things when stealing them is easy?!" is definitely a lifehack.

Is this just bait?

shadyghxst t1_j92h0a0 wrote

Oh you never downloaded anything on the net for free and for personal use only?

−14

phredbull t1_j92hco0 wrote

"Why buy stuff when you can get away with stealing it?"

Red_n_Rusty t1_j92hqs9 wrote

You can also download movies and music for free but somehow people are willing to pay for services like Spotify and Netflix. Downloading illegally distributed books is illegal in most regions and it doesn't support the authors. Personally I don't find reading ebooks difficult. Nothing is easier than buying one on the Kindle store and reading it without having to lug books around.

Did I download illegally distributed copies of media when I was a student? Sure. Am I doing it now that I'm an employed adult? Never.

philosophyofblonde t1_j92i3j5 wrote

Why not spare yourself the virus and I dunno…use a library to source your eBooks?

shadyghxst t1_j92mej8 wrote

I know how to use the internet effectively and get things for free without any virus.

−2

UnspentTx t1_j92ho9k wrote

> Why pay for ebooks?

Because stealing is against the law? So the author will get paid for their time and effort? So you won't get suckered into downloading a file corrupted with spyware / malware? To support retail platforms that offer safe, legal copies of books; many of which also help support up-and-coming authors, offer tools authors can use to self-publish their work, etc?

¯\(ツ)

shadyghxst t1_j92mkv8 wrote

Its not stealing , its downloading. You know like we all do everyday on the internet.

−1

UnspentTx t1_j92tcl0 wrote

My bad, you're correct... It's not stealing, it's "possession of stolen goods" which is a totally separate crime (in most places, at least...)