Submitted by ancienthippo t3_zs60at in books

I’m familiar with the story and have watched a couple different adaptations throughout my life, but this is my first time reading the book. I decided to read the book while also listening to the audiobook and found out that LeVar Burton narrates a free version on Apple Books!! He brought so much life to the story and I absolutely loved it!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Sapphire_Flora t1_j16hs9h wrote

I just downloaded it. I haven’t heard Levar Burton read a book since the Reading Rainbow days.

Bookworm_XXX t1_j16ltqw wrote

He has a podcast called Levar Burton Reads where he reads short stories. It's fantastic!

wingthing t1_j18mcqu wrote

Absolutely everyone should listen to this podcast. It’s so fricking nostalgic and unbelievably soothing. I loved Reading Rainbow and getting to listen to LeVar Burton again makes me so happy.

ChaserNeverRests t1_j16r9ir wrote

LeVar Burton Reads is a wonderful podcast. It's like Reading Rainbow for adults!

lizzie1hoops t1_j178yir wrote

I'm listening to a version narrated by Tim Curry, but I bet this is great too. It'll be next on my list!

amyriadofhorses t1_j17jonh wrote

I just finished the Tim Curry one. Damn it's good. His voices are excellent.

the908bus t1_j17ewgt wrote

I wish I were LeVar Burton

thewizardlizard t1_j16pph8 wrote

Thank you for this! 😊 Love him from Reading Rainbow. Will be so much fun to hear him read this classic ❤️

frolki t1_j172fre wrote

still 2 weeks wait on Libby, listening now! Thanks for sharing!

le_fromage_puant t1_j16ou5t wrote

Thank you! I just finished an “intermediate reader” version with one of my ESL students and sent this to him

rennarda t1_j17rsm0 wrote

The Patrick Stewart version is a Christmas tradition in our household.

Legal-Philosophy-135 t1_j16v2pg wrote

Thank you! I just went straight and downloaded it, definitely looking forward to it

tkrynsky t1_j17gdko wrote