Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

On_The_Contrary_24 t1_j7lmrg8 wrote

This looks exactly like some of my x-Ray spectroscopy data I studied in graduate school. Uncanny. Take a line out of this using ImageJ and analyze it!

Cough_Geek OP t1_j7lnor5 wrote

Interesting - do you have some image to share which resembles cough's scalogram, just out of curiosity?

On_The_Contrary_24 t1_j7lp5j6 wrote

Hard to find a solid link that isn’t paywalled (most peer reviewed work is). You can google “x-ray spectroscopy z-pinch film UNR” and check out images. Won’t look as pretty as yours, our film was black and white.

imnotreel t1_j7ndzve wrote

>DataIsBeautiful is for visualizations that effectively convey information. Aesthetics are an important part of information visualization, but pretty pictures are not the sole aim of this subreddit.

Meanwhile in r/dataisbeautiful : a random scalogram of a cough audio recording with no title, no axes labels, no color bar, big ass empty margins and zero annotations or description what so ever gets hundreds of upvotes ...

Cough_Geek OP t1_j7p8vdh wrote

I appreciate your feedback very much - as work on cough analysis continues, all following interesting visuals will come addressing your points!

mizinamo t1_j7ljef0 wrote

Is the "lonely" supposed to be "lowly"?

(Since you seem to be contrasting it with "rich".)

Cough_Geek OP t1_j7lltw5 wrote

Good one haha! For a cough, that is lonely and rich - it is likely just a matter of time for another one to appear; then they are counted and depicted as cough bursts!

michiganfan101 t1_j7ndyq0 wrote

Ooh pretty colors. Doesn't mean anything since nothing is labeled, but I suppose you could try to sell it to a modern art museum

Judge_gerg t1_j7lufk6 wrote

Every time I shift my focus to a different part of this image, the periphery looks like it's shrinking. So much so, that I had to check if it was a GIF or a video.

Cough_Geek OP t1_j7lw16x wrote