Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

sudsomatic t1_j2dpn5c wrote

Well done! That’s tough to make.

Ignorhymus t1_j2dxfpq wrote

Yeah - I saw a recipe on italiasquisita for pannetone. I thought I'd watch it, as I'd really love some pannetone, and I can't get it here. Yeah, nah. Not a snowball in hell's chance.

Spaceneedle420 t1_j2f06ag wrote

Rise to the occasion. Challenge yourself.

Ignorhymus t1_j2fkhfs wrote

It contained starters, and I don't have any starter culture

docgonzomt t1_j2fq2fj wrote

You can make your own or, get a little starter from King Arthur Flour as well. It's super easy. I have one I've been keeping alive for about 9 months now. Just gotta feed it like once a week, and before you use it. I've left it for 2 weeks before and it's been fine! I also use the discard to make biscuits, pancakes, pizza dough, scones, and more.

crimony70 t1_j2fxa1i wrote

Sad for you, I love Pannetone.

Supermarkets here have 20 different varieties, but I guess Australia has a strong Italian cultural influence. Strong enough for our coffee culture to cost Starbucks $600M when they tried to convince us all that their liquid dessert shops were coffee shops.

Zozorrr t1_j2er647 wrote

In a wrapper too

Tireditalian t1_j2euuxi wrote

Panettone wrappers are apparently a thing. Didn't realize part of the "traditional style" was the wrapping.

I also thought it was store bought because the Panettone I bought had a similar wrap. After searching specifically for the wrap, I'm not a skeptical.

It also looks very good.

therichhotdog t1_j2f7pfw wrote

The paper mould is essential to panettone making.

Once the panettone is baked, it has risen quite a bit is prone to collapsing. To prevent this, bakers insert skewers or attach a rack with spikes in it to ‘grab’ the panettone so that it can be inverted. The panettone is hung upside down as it cools. Once cooled, the panettone is ready to be packaged without collapsing.

circumnavigatin t1_j2ehzw6 wrote