Submitted by magnabonzo t3_z837vj in massachusetts

I came across this post about someone in Florida who knew their rights when the police accosted them and it made me wonder about Massachusetts.

According to the ACLU,

>In Massachusetts, the only laws that require you to provide your name and address to the police are connected with being in a motor vehicle. However, it is a crime to give false identifying information to police if you are arrested.

(From Know Your Rights: When do I have to give my name or address to law enforcement in Massachusetts?)

Note the ACLU also recommends

> In any encounter with the police, try to stay calm and polite because getting upset could cause the police to overreact, or even arrest you.

It would seem to me that it'd be worth having a recording of the exchange too, but I'm not a lawyer, I'm just sharing what the ACLU says...

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Positive-Material t1_iyb45ri wrote

it is not a crime for a mass state trooper to say 'I am going to bash your head into the curb, and we are off camera right now, so there will be no evidence.' Just.. so you know.

RalePider t1_iyclwsm wrote

You folks can downvote all you want, but the fact remains that police are allowed to lie

PakkyT t1_iyao7t7 wrote

Massachusetts does not have a Stop and identify law on the books and even if we did, Stop and Identify only apply if they have a reasonable suspicion you have committed or are about to commit a crime.

Basic rule of thumb is you are never lawfully required to talk to the police about any subject and at time ... ever!

magnabonzo OP t1_iydfuq5 wrote

Unless you're driving, I believe.

PakkyT t1_iyej099 wrote

Yes you have to show a license if you are driving. Other than that, you don't have to identify yourself to police or display any sort of government ID, And you never have to speak to them even if you are driving. you can simply hand them your license and remain silent.