Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Chippopotanuse t1_iycijwf wrote

These folks need more than a slap on the wrist. Why are 179 of the 180 days in jail “suspended”?

vpi6 t1_iycvsyk wrote

He’s so far the only one of the 30 who plead guilty which might indicate this person broke from the group.

crazypyro23 t1_iye4lxe wrote

It's pretty standard in Utah. Almost all misdemeanors and most low level felonies get suspended jail time. You have to really piss somebody off to serve jail right off the bat.

Typical sentence for a misdemeanor (think DUI) in Utah is 180 days jail suspended to probation and low level felonies (think meth use) get 0-5 years jail suspended to probation. Once you get into the next tier of felony (think arson) the sentencing moves to 1-15 years prison, which is when you see fewer suspended sentences, although they do still happen.

Source: I work in the background check industry and used to specialize in Utah.

jawnyman t1_iyesepa wrote

Hopefully it has something to do with cooperation with the defense in exchange for a suspended sentence

UMRK11 t1_iycivze wrote

−4

Chippopotanuse t1_iycsl04 wrote

Yes. I’m fully aware of what the term means. From your link:

> In criminal law, a suspended sentence is an alternative to imprisonment where a judge may partially or entirely suspend the convicted individual's prison or jail sentence so long as they fulfill certain conditions.

Sure. That’s a nice policy goal. But my point was that I doubt this guy, as a racist extremist, is going to be “rehabilitated” by facing zero consequence.

These folks tend to get worse as they age rather than better.

And by coddling them with probation and suspended sentences, all we do is send the message that being a domestic terrorist has near zero consequences.

“But jail will only radicalize them further!”