Submitted by HeadOfSpectre t3_10p4dbd in nosleep

I’ve been hunting vampires for six years now and I used to think I was pretty good at it. Then again if you’re a trained killer like me, vampires aren’t all that different from anything else.

​

There’s a lot of misconceptions about them. People seem to think they’ve got magical powers or can only be killed in certain ways. Sunlight, a stake to the heart, stuff like that. None of it is necessarily true. Sunlight doesn’t actually do much to them. It doesn’t burn their skin or make them weaker. Their eyes are more attuned to low light conditions, so the only thing it does is make it ever so slightly harder for them to see. Garlic doesn’t do anything either. They’re a little more sensitive to smell I guess, but they’re no more put off by garlic than anyone else.

​

Oh and crosses? Don’t even bother. The only reason people think vampires are afraid of crosses, is because most of the groups who’ve hunted them throughout history were Catholic. They don’t actually have any affect on them. If you throw up a cross at a vampire, the only thing that’ll do is buy you a few seconds as your soon to be killer laughs in your face.

​

So then, how do you kill a vampire?

​

However the hell you want.

​

Sure, a lot of the old myths aren’t true. But that’s a two way street. Vampires can’t turn into bats, they can’t hypnotize you, fly or anything like that. Not naturally, anyways. There’s a few out there who’ve figured out how to use magic to make themselves even stronger but for most vampires the only leg they have up on you and me is that they’re a little bit stronger, a little bit faster and they don’t age. Other than that, you can kill them just as easily as you can kill anything else. Shoot it in the head, slit its throat, put a stake through its heart if you really want to. It doesn’t matter how you do it, so long as you confirm the kill.

​