Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

[deleted] OP t1_jecto1y wrote

[deleted]

Adventurous-Coach-11 t1_jecuft0 wrote

That’s good news, I don’t feel so crazy now for accepting the 6.6%.

Our commute to work is 45 minutes one way trip. Both have SUV’s. My second job is 20 minutes one way. Daycare is also 30 minutes away one trip. Unfortunately where we live, it’s hard to find good work, school, daycare in a close vicinity to each other. We are in southern AL.

ItsWetInWestOregon t1_jecr2xz wrote

You have gross income listed, but I don’t see a line item for retirement. What are you putting away for retirement? If that is gross, what is it after tax?

You have $10k in debt. What was that from? You should clear that debt before buying a house. If you can’t clear the debt, you can’t afford a house.

Adventurous-Coach-11 t1_jectaqf wrote

We have no retirement fund. We have a 529 for my son, and will open one for our daughter once she’s born.

I have no knowledge of where to start with retirement, or investing. I am at a complete loss.

After Tax, I take home $681 plus $316 cash. I am contracted as well and paycheck is $800-$900 monthly depending on hours and I obviously have to take taxes from that.

10k was from moving to where we are now two years ago. We could pay it off but we would not have the money to do the things we want to do to our house once we close, it’s 22 year old house and needs repainting & some fixing up work nothing too major, mostly cosmetic.

We may just have to bite the bullet and pay the 10k off and wait on house repairs.

InteriorAttack t1_jecu4dt wrote

> We have no retirement fund. We have a 529 for my son, and will open one for our daughter once she’s born.

You can't afford to pay for anyone's college. Sorry. You have no retirement funds, 10k in high interest debt, and a 40k car loan along with other items in your budget that seem way way too expensive. So I think the answer to your title is yes, very