Submitted by aav_2202 t3_zz8xtu in personalfinance

My husband and I currently have a large balance sitting in our savings account, earning a shamefully low APY (too embarrassed to even say...). We're hesitant to put it in our brokerage account because we expect to pull from it in the coming year, and don't want to risk needing to sell positions when the market it down.

I'm new to investing and tried sitting down to research where the best place would be to temporarily park this cash (i.e., what bank, what type of account, etc), but have been overwhelmed by the options (and not sure which sources to trust). I wish I had more time to figure this out, but I have a newborn, a toddler and a rapidly ending maternity leave so trying to get this issue taken care of asap and without going down anymore online banking/investing rabbit holes...

Thank you so much!!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

mlachick t1_j2axj7p wrote

If you don't need the cash for a long time, an I-bond is still a good option. Other than that, I recommend HYSA. Mine are up to 3.5%.

aav_2202 OP t1_j2cgrmq wrote

Thank you! The hard part is that I'm not sure when we'll need the cash. We subscribed into a PE fund and need to be able to wire within 10 business of capital calls, which can happen at any time. Can I ask what bank your HYSA is through? Any complaints?

mlachick t1_j2cgwii wrote

I actually have three now - Capital One, Citi, and my local credit union.

aav_2202 OP t1_j2cmial wrote

Thanks! Will keep Capital One and Citi on my list.

wolf8sheep t1_j2b6uoi wrote

I bonds.