Submitted by flowerssmellnice t3_zzuq4c in personalfinance

I’m 3 years into being a stay at home parent. I have no retirement account and it looks like I need to have earned income to contribute to one. What my best bet for saving for retirement starting now? I’m 31 and feel late to the game. My husband says he saves for us both but it makes me nervous to have none in my name. What are some good options for me? I don’t see myself working for at least another 3 years.

Other info: -We’re in our 30s -Husband makes a good income (above $130k) -We have 2 young kids with one in part-time care($700/month) -We own our car -We own a home and pay our mortgage ($2100) each month -We use credit cards and pay them off each month -Student loans are paid off -We have $25k savings -I have a college degree

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

DeluxeXL t1_j2dmytj wrote

> Other info: -We’re in our 30s -Husband makes a good income (above $130k)

If you file jointly, you can contribute the max amount to your traditional or Roth IRA.

flowerssmellnice OP t1_j2dnc70 wrote

I don’t have one of those. How might I open one? Is it too late for this year?

DeluxeXL t1_j2dnjyy wrote

You can open and contribute for 2022 until tax day (4/18/2023). This is true for every year - you always have 3.5 extra months to contribute after the year is over. Read the IRA wiki.

mrbrsman t1_j2dnpbv wrote

Yes, you can still open one for this year and you can contribute for 2022 until April 15th 2023.

I recommend one of the big brokerages (fidelity, vanguard, Schwab) or the same that your husband uses.

Smokey_Katt t1_j2dpxr3 wrote

You need 40 quarters with some taxable income to qualify for Medicare on your own. That’s a good goal to shoot for, it’s pretty easy to work a few hours a week someplace low-stress.

flowerssmellnice OP t1_j2dzm22 wrote

Thank you. I worked for 8 years before kids and need 2 more to qualify, which I do plan to do at some point

Fpaau2 t1_j2f55bl wrote