Submitted by Purple_Dis_Nuts t3_zzc9oc in personalfinance

I’m a teacher and I also help my family on the side. I make good money, I don’t have any kids, but I feel like I spend way too much on food, going out, and just all around. What are some frugal tips you offer? I have a Roth IRA, and I’m also investing on the side, but I feel like it’s not enough. I want to buy a house, and be financially well off by 30, but I still lack the discipline to save more. My mentality is “enjoy your money, you don’t know what will happen tomorrow.” How can I change that?

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

spiritfiend t1_j2areqk wrote

>My mentality is “enjoy your money, you don’t know what will happen tomorrow.” How can I change that?

Instead of thinking about death, why not think that for every dollar you spend you will need to work an extra day before retiring? Is that small comfort or luxury today worth two or more weeks of hard work when you're older?

legitimatejonah t1_j2atblh wrote

I would try to make a budget possibly using a service like Mint or Rocket Money. Determine where your money goes and cut back on areas where you can spend less. You should treat yourself sometimes but don’t overdue it. Create a balance and you’ll be happy and financially stable.

That’s not a horrible mentality because it’s true but you are here right now and will need money in the future so it’s important to save.

if you’re saving for a house you should research teacher home loan programs in your state. Many states offer those programs to help get teachers homes as teachers pay often leave them left out of getting a decent home. For your home savings goal you should save for that in a HYSA or CD’s.

You should ensure you have an emergency fund in a HYSA account (eg. Sofi, Ally).

If you have any debt like credit cards work on paying those off AFTER building up the emergency fund. If you have student loans as a teacher look into the PSLF program if your loans are federal.