Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

__Augustus_ OP t1_jdoth9y wrote

Returning after 3 years. It may not look like it but this is the same telescope from here (and same haircut, lol). Lots of improvements including bigger bearings, new focuser, new truss clamps, a motorized EQ platform for tracking. 14.7" f/2.9 Dobsonian with a quartz mirror made by Steve Dodds. I have since built a number of telescopes up to 24" but this is once again my largest scope and I am beginning work on a 25" f/2.6 along with a 32" f/2.6 and 37" f/3, which I am grinding the mirrors for. I also regularly set up my telescopes for public outreach events including literally on street corners, and I am teaching friends to grind mirrors and make telescopes both locally and over the Internet. This scope has been to dozens of star parties and outreach events and still remains my favorite and it keeps getting better the more I tweak it.

Other than DIY astronomy stuff, I have no background in science or engineering, and I suck at math. Building one of these is not hard and it's a great way to get an affordable, not to mention custom instrument.

As always, if you're interested in buying or making a telescope I recommend /r/atming and /r/telescopes along with TelescopicWatch.com. You can build or buy a good telescope for as little as $130. The Hadley 114mm telescope is a lovely 3D-printed instrument you can easily make yourself for $150 or less.

Photo taken at the annual Stars Over Sabino event in Tucson, AZ.

Kozzinator t1_jdotzm4 wrote

How much did this bad boy run you though?

I want a great telescope, I've shopped around for a while now but I can't justify spending that much on one.

...and how bad at math we talking here because I failed a year long remedial algebra course haha.

__Augustus_ OP t1_jdoujma wrote

Failed the same course.