Submitted by BeingPoor223 t3_yh2n74 in tifu

I know how this sounds but let me start from the beginning.

I got accepted to a prestigious college in my state. The only reason I was actually able to get accepted to go to college was because of the TRIO program. I am a first generation student who will graduate high school. Before you ask, I am not a first generation family member in America. Im a fourth generation family member in America. None of my grandparents, parents, or great-grandparents have graduated high-school let alone college.

My parents were never really into school and never encouraged me to get good goods. I know how ungrateful that sounds, some kids complain about parents getting on them about their grades. But I needed that support and motivation and never got it.

I had to stay home all the time to help take care of my mentally disabled brother and sick grandma. My mom has frequent bipolar episodes in which she will blame every bad thing on me. her and my father have never attended college or graduated high school. (They would later get their GEDS) But they are not in school nor do they have jobs. Not only this but our family of five have been living on social security and food stamps for four years. (So I got bad grades)

This junior year I was almost kicked out of my TRIO program. This awoke something in me and I was able to convince them I needed to stay. I would later get the much needed support, stability, and motivation at the summer camp. During that summer I was able to make up 12 core credit class and raise my gpa from a 2.39 to a 2.94 unweighted. (I would also be taken on college visits that summer around my state and I fell in love with a few of them, But I was able to raise my gpa in one summer to an average gpa)