Submitted by lostcacti t3_zz7tnx in tifu

Technically, this happened several years ago. I took the job I had spent ten years preparing for and it has had numerous negative ripple effects.

I have a PhD in an industry applicable but pretty specific subject area. Competition for faculty positions in my field is fierce and generally requires postdocs for five or more years and moving around a lot. My spouse wasn't interested in that instability and told me that she would only be willing to move if I found a tenure track position, but preferably after she had been in her job for five years. So I got a well paying industry job, but it did have some opportunities to interface with academia at times and even teach occasionally. It was a prestigious organization ( realize that now because I tell people I worked there and they go on about what they think about the work the place does) and looking back, I realize that working there was even more of a once in a lifetime opportunity than becoming a professor.

However after taking the position, I quickly began to feel stressed out from the high work demands and the feeling that I wasn't doing what I was meant to do. Shortly after I took the job, I was contacted by a colleague about a faculty job opportunity at their university which precisely aligned with the work I did for my dissertation. I talked to my wife, who encouraged me to apply so as to not have regrets about not trying. So I applied even though it hadn't been five years in her career and the location wasn't as good for her industry or really any job not at the university. I honestly didn't think I had a chance and figured I was just helping the search committee get a larger pool so as to impress the admin at their institution and help with future requests for positions.