Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

ElfMage83 t1_j69jjhn wrote

This explains much about the Ghostbusters.

Zenmedic t1_j69sksa wrote

Back in the early days of my career as a paramedic, I worked for an ambulance service in a small town. It was owned by the same guy who owned the funeral home. Our ambulance bay was shared with a couple of hearses, and our crew room was behind the cooler.

Sometimes if things were busy on the other side, we would do some body transport, preparation, etc.... Definitely one of the more interesting times in my career.

Gathorall t1_j6moq90 wrote

Things were busy on the other side you say?

woofwoofgrrl t1_j6abumk wrote

OMG! This might explain why in Ithaca NY the ambulance company garage is right next to a funeral home with the same name!! I've always been very perplexed by that! (Obligatory "If I have an emergency I hope they call the right one!" dad joke every time I pass it)

xilix2 t1_j6bdz5i wrote

We have the same thing in Montebello, California, a suburb of Los Angeles.

Risher Mortuary is next door to Risher Ambulance. I always thought it would be funny if their hearse had one of those customized license plate frames that reads "My other car is an ambulance."

pauliewotsit t1_j69n489 wrote

I can just imagine one turning up and saying "bloody hell mate, bit eager aren't you?"

Mark_Luther t1_j6aczbu wrote

I detect a slight conflict of interest with this set up.

Blutarg t1_j6b79zi wrote

Yeah, really! Better hope the funeral home guy isn't too greedy.

slugline t1_j6cyx8g wrote

At least in the U.S. this is unlikely to be a concern. Ambulance billing on a per-mile basis can be really high!

monkeypox_69 t1_j6a5ey9 wrote

Haha, right this way into this hearse sir. You'll be just fine 🙂

MN8616 t1_j6bbnov wrote

Lots of small towns it was same vehicle. Color other than black & they had a light could put up on the roof & siren under the hood. Grew up in small town Illinois & all the towns around we're that way.