Submitted by MiddleChildSyndrome3 t3_y5j3lt in DIY

Changing bathroom light fixture over the sink in my master bathroom and discovered a lack of a junction box. House is vintage ‘93 if that matters, exterior wall. We have 2 sinks both had lights over them, neither have any junction box.

Would the base of the light count as a safe space for the connection? Do I need a junction box in the wall? Everything appears to be tied back through a gfci outlet next to the sink as well.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Affectionate_Zone623 t1_isjxh9q wrote

As a contractor I see this all of the time. The best remedy is to install a pair of 1-gang old work or remodel boxes. These are usually blue boxes with tabs that flip out and hold tight to the back of the wall. Install is just a matter of cutting the hole, feeding the wire into the box, and tightening the screws. If you decide to proceed just be cautious of the wire in the wall when cutting.

Pererez35 t1_isk5gco wrote

They make remodel boxes specifically for lights. They’re round and accept 8-32s, single gang boxes are for 6-32s

SirGlenn t1_iskknzw wrote

For those with minimal wiring knowledge, there are electrical boxes called: new work, or old work.

MiddleChildSyndrome3 OP t1_isk9yim wrote

Checked with a friend who has a bit more experience than I and he recommended this route as well, thank you!

andyrue t1_iskc21v wrote

Please tell me "vintage '93" means 1893, otherwise I'm going to feel really... vintage.

svogon t1_islh7sz wrote

Yes, fairly certain electrical codes predate even the dark times of 1993. ;)

MiddleChildSyndrome3 OP t1_ism1de5 wrote

Only meant that the house was built in 1993, not that it was in fact vintage or old.

nalc t1_isk3lw5 wrote

Many light fixtures are rated as junction boxes, meaning you route the Romex directly into the fixture and make the connections inside the fixture.

DesolationRobot t1_iskektb wrote