Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

PitifulNose t1_j7mlbnj wrote

There are plenty of things on the market right now for human anti aging. metformin is the only FDA approved drug for it and it is starting to get marketed more heavily towards this vs other uses.

David Sinclair has some interesting opinions and studies on human aging and supplements that show legit positive effects.

Then there was that one study out of Israel about the O2 chambers and how it added length to peoples telomeres.

Cool stuff is already here, just not super mainstream yet…

[deleted] t1_j7mlbsg wrote

I think a lot of these guys are talking out of their asses. It’s the Elon Musk effect. I don’t think we will see anti aging anytime in our lifetime or the next.

Who knows maybe the generation after will keep their egos in check enough to actually accomplish stuff.

SlickMcFav0rit3 t1_j7nhem8 wrote

I am a molecular biologist. This guy is cynical, pessimistic, and totally right.

We still don't even know what causes aging, if all aging is the same, etc.

DrinkBen1994 t1_j7mmvp4 wrote

AFAIK, anti-aging science is pretty close to pretty majorly increasing our life-spans if not reversing aging completely. But it will probably cost a lot of money and won't be available to most people for decades.

The best thing you can do right now is probably get regular exercise, eat healthy, and eat in moderate amounts. The more calories you consume (or are required to consume based on your height/weight), the lower your lifespan will be.

Edit: I believe scientists have already cracked a lot of this stuff in mice and so on.

SlickMcFav0rit3 t1_j7njq3j wrote

I am a molecular biologist.

Aging is the ultimate risk factor for a disease or condition that will kill an organism.

Beyond that, there is no consensus on what aging truly is, how it works or what it does at the molecular level. Sure, telomeres get shorter, but it's unclear if that's cause or effect.