Submitted by blambo126 t3_118u3qm in LifeProTips

Some background info: As long as I can remember I've wanted to make video games, I managed to make this my career path and I went through 8 years of study to reach that goal.

After graduating I spend half a year looking for a job and was about to give up and look for an IT helpdesk job, started studying for that as well looking into getting Comptia A+ certifications since I don't have any experience or education in that area.

Then literally the last employer I send my resume before I'd give up told me I could come and work for them as a 3d artist, my dream job ever since I was a kid. It's a very big company as well, it's a well paid job, my coleagues are all amazing and very friendly and helpfull yet I don't feel any motivation what so ever. The work I have to do is not the most compelling, but it's not a bad way by any means to make a living and it's in my field of expertise.

So with all this going for me, I still manage to complain... I can't stop thinking about that IT job I'd been studying for on the side in case things went bottom side up for me in the games industry, wanting to start traineeships, follow courses, get a carreer started in that field of work. but I don't feel I can justify it. Not towards my parents, who supported me financially during my school days. Not towards my girlfriend, who's been pacienly waiting for me to finally get a steady income to be able to contribute to our future. Not to anyone tbh as they'd all think I lost my marbles giving up on this opportunity. And mostly not to myself as I'd hate to edmit I want to give up on 8 years of blood sweat and tears just because I'd rather be a helpdesk employee.

what would you do?

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

keepthetips t1_j9j43kp wrote

Hello and welcome to r/LifeProTips!

Please help us decide if this post is a good fit for the subreddit by up or downvoting this comment.