Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

nxqv t1_jdxx53i wrote

I don't know a whole lot about LLMs because I'm new to the field but I sure do know about FOMO. I recently felt a lot of FOMO about having missed opportunities to path towards graduate school and AI research years ago.

What you need to do is put a name to the face. Dig deep and understand your feelings better.

What is it you're afraid of missing out on exactly?

Untold riches? Researchers don't really make any more or less money than other computer science jobs. And most billionaires aren't following some predetermined path.

Fame? Clout? We can't all be Sam Altman or Yann LeCun or Eliezer Yudkowsky or whoever. Besides, most of the things you see these types of guys say or do in public is only tangentially related to the day to day experience of actually being them.

Impact? I've recently come to realize that a craving for "impact" is often rooted in a desire for one of these other things, or rooted in some sort of egotistical beliefs or other deep seated psychological matter like seeking someone's approval. In reality, you could be the guy who cures cancer and most regular people would only think about you for half a second, your peers could be jealous freaks, and people could still find some tiny little reason to turn on you if they really wanted to. You could easily die knowing you did something amazing for the world and nobody cared but you. Are you the type of person who would be okay with that?

Edit: the "Impact" part was controversial so I'd like to add:

> don't lose sight of the forest because of a tree. We're talking about impact in the context of FOMO - if you feel that level of anxiety and rush about potentially missing out on the ability to make an impact because others are already making the impact you want to make, it's more likely to be ego-driven than genuine altruism