Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Peantoo t1_iw08v2m wrote

I've been doing ML work for the government in a research position. I've been trying to break out and get into commercial ML, but not having CI/CD and cloud experience is basically gatekeeping me. I can't get away from the military and into green tech no matter what I do. Very frustrating.

farmingvillein t1_iw0pgz2 wrote

> but not having CI/CD and cloud experience is basically gatekeeping me

Big tech doesn't really care about this. Are you passing leetcode & ML skills screens? This is where I would focus.

(Well, would have, prior to the current crash...)

Peantoo t1_iw0wukj wrote

Eh, I've had 3 interviews so far and that's what they want. I've got lots of experience with data wrangling, model development, etc, but I keep hitting that wall of, "we use AWS and need someone to help with the production side of things."

I'm signed up for a lot of training courses, specifically GCS and AWS, so maybe I'll have more luck once I've completed them. There's still the issue of getting practical experience, but I'll figure it out at some point.

farmingvillein t1_iw0yjja wrote

> but I keep hitting that wall of, "we use AWS and need someone to help with the production side of things."

That doesn't sound like big tech?--Meta, Alphabet, etc. heavily use their own internal tools.

> but I keep hitting that wall of, "we use AWS and need someone to help with the production side of things."

Also doesn't sound like "truly" ML roles.

Peantoo t1_iw0zxg9 wrote

Not really aiming at big tech. I guess I should have clarified that, my mistake. If you know MLOps, you know stuff like Apache Spark, Databricks, etc are part of the ML pipeline. I agree, it isn't very ML, but that's what they keep asking for.

farmingvillein t1_iw1av5m wrote

Yes, understood--you're aiming at the wrong market, is what I was trying to get at.

Peantoo t1_iw1lcvt wrote