Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

chefranden t1_jaadcn6 wrote

My wife and I were still poor enough at those prices that we would split a Filet-o-fish.

Important_Box5685 t1_jabddk3 wrote

This is Deep. Wow!

chefranden t1_jac7gkr wrote

Working as a cook, I made $1.25/hr.

Important_Box5685 t1_jacwpzs wrote

I was making $3.35 when I-got my job at McDonald’s. Times changed. Minimum wages stayed so low. Still is to low for workers. Unfair. Very unfair.

To this day McDonalds was the hardest job I ever had. I loaded 18 wheelers by myself and they never understood how I did it with ease. I told them “I unloaded trucks from McDonald’s and was a cook too. This is nothing compared to breakfast, lunch or dinner rush”! lol 😂

warkyboy77 t1_jaanj9q wrote

I miss these signs.

just-a-stupid-bunny t1_jab4cop wrote

Do you know when they got rid of them? I don’t as born in 76 and kind of subconsciously I remember seeing signs like this at one point.

FrankDrakman t1_jaamy09 wrote

Hamburger, fries, and a Coke... and change back from your dollar!

That was a pretty effective ad at the time.

TheLastBlackRhino t1_jaaocfa wrote

$1 then is $6.07 today, so in real dollar terms it’s about the same if not cheaper now.

Bill-6969 t1_jab99pt wrote

Less labor required per store, I would assume?

1Arcite t1_jab2yjz wrote

The 1/4 Pounder with Cheese adjusted for inflation, $0.70 in 1974 is equal to $4.50 in 2023.

idliketoseethat t1_jaamqzk wrote

That 10 cent bump for a slice of cheese is what made Millions for McDonald's over the years. Prove me wrong!

mcfarmer72 t1_jaare4c wrote

And I made $2.25/hour working construction.

dustinhut13 t1_jaaunli wrote

There’s something you’ll never see again, a line INSIDE a McDonalds.

xlr8torr t1_jabckcd wrote

You could buy one of everything on that menu for what a 1/4 pound meal costs today.

BryanWythm t1_jabixrx wrote

Does the coffee price have a small sign next to it reading, “Mass old age tax ¢5”? Or what does it say?