Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

SonGoku_USA OP t1_j6rxnez wrote

I thought something was up when my electrical bill went to $30 to $70… to $340.

throwingarmweak t1_j6s4m0v wrote

I'm new to my home and not only have that but also got a minisplit system installed, so I have no idea what my average electricity is supposed to be.

I estimated $150 because that's how much it cost for my apartment that was on the second floor and was bigger, but somehow the estimate is saying it'll be $245.

Ugh 😩

Bird_Brain4101112 t1_j6sa8oe wrote

Cries in $700 electric bills (electric heat)

Pink_Slyvie t1_j6sbji7 wrote

If you own, work on getting a heat pump, and I like a wood or pellet stove as a backup for when it gets really, really cold.

Most of us rent through, and our landlords are doing whatever is cheapest for them, which is often the most expensive for us.

Bird_Brain4101112 t1_j6sda4s wrote

We own and we have multiple fireplaces which we don’t use since it’s not practical. Our bills were never this high but the last year or two the costs have exploded.

Pink_Slyvie t1_j6sdqt0 wrote

Fireplaces, unlike wood stoves, are terribly inefficient. The only reason I recommend them though is for comfort and when the temp gets so cold outside, heat pumps lose the ability to work effectively. Geothermal solves this problem but is still super pricey.

Solar is also a must-have if you can fit it into the budget now as well.

It goes back to my original point though, that's only for those that are privileged enough to own a home. Those of us that aren't are just going to keep falling deeper and deeper into the hole with no way out.

erock255555 t1_j6shsz9 wrote

Just about every heat pump made nowadays goes down to -5f pretty efficiently.

Pink_Slyvie t1_j6si72p wrote

Yeap! It's amazing, but we are going to see more and more extreme weather events with climate change, so having a backup is a great idea!