Submitted by jumpergirl05 t3_1012lvo in RhodeIsland

Hi there everyone!šŸ˜Š. A couple of months ago I got my own apartment in Rhode Island. Which I was very excited for/ still am. This is my first place really on my own fully(22 yrs old) and I have a few questions Iā€™m hoping you guys can answer. Firstly I pay for oil heat which has obviously been shockingly expensive to me since this is my first time doing this. in my lease which Iā€™m not sure if this matters or not but I am renting from a guy that owns this house not a apartment complex/manager. It says that I pay for heat but he pays for the hot water but the hot water is there only by oilā€¦ So technically arenā€™t I paying for the hot water?. Then I have a close friend who is a property manager in the state and she told me the landlord tenant law states that the landlord has to pay for the hot water. Iā€™m just trying to confirm if that is true or not secondly, he told me that in the lease it states that I have to be signed up for automatic oil refill so I obviously went and re read the lease Top to bottom and itā€™s not stated anywhere in the leaseā€¦ So then do I need to be signed up for it? I havenā€™t said anything to him or made a big deal Iā€™m just simply trying to confirm Thank you!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

fishythepete t1_j2mjot8 wrote

>I have a close friend who is a property manager in the state and she told me the landlord tenant law states that the landlord has to pay for the hot water. Iā€™m just trying to confirm if that is true or not