Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

HelpMeImThicc t1_j5r0z1t wrote

Veteran here, we know. Political ideologies are different depending on which service you are in, infantry Marines seem the most right leaning and support roles in the Air Force seem the most left leaning in my personal experience. I was in the Navy and I knew a bare handful of folks in my years in the service that were joining up for patriotism, actually the majority was trying to get free college and that's one of the reasons why I don't think the U.S. Government would ever make college free anytime soon because there goes the majority of service members.

I will agree with you healthcare sucks, I'm a disabled veteran and my healthcare is bureaucratic as all get out. I've been waiting about 8 months for a therapist and 3 months for an x-ray for my back because my sciatic nerve is being pinched. I'm not even 30 yet.

Also active duty folks already know they are expendable, when I was active duty I had a "manager" that told my division that it doesn't matter how shit we are at our jobs since new replacements come every friday. Friday is the day at least one class of boot camp class graduates.

Doomgloomya t1_j5rd2bx wrote

Active duty know they are expndable but its the people that are being recruited who dont realize just how expendable. Recruiters LOOOVE being in underprivilaged highschools and community college preying on lower income people that want a better life.

What better place then using the poor to fill the ranks.

I work 911 and am always saddended by all the homeless VAs that choose to be homeless because its honestly easier for them. Neglected and forgotten so many of our soldiers.

CyanideTacoZ t1_j5t0f64 wrote