Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

honestlyicba t1_j6hps1u wrote

I’ve read five of her books ( I think) back when I was coming out of a reading slump and her books were all over the internet.

The emotional and physical abuse (not just present in It Ends With Us) really disturbed me but I read it while highlighting all the worse red flags from the characters.

It Ends With Us was supposed to have some moral message but it got completely lost ok me when the abusive husband literally have little to no consequence. Sure Lily stood up for herself at the end but like why doesn’t what’s his name Ryle? Kyle? get any real life consequences other than a divorce.

It is super disturbing and unsatisfying to read. I wanted him to go to jail.

camilla_reads t1_j6hrhx6 wrote

Yes! This was my major issue with IEWU too, I wanted actual repercussions for Ryle's behaviour. But instead it's some schmaltzy ending? Miss me with that. CoHo had a chance to tell a story about a woman finding the strength to report her abusive husband to the cops and prosecute him and instead she somehow romanticised it all to the point that people on TikTok are talking about how hot Ryle is and how he should be forgiven.

honestlyicba t1_j6i0oxg wrote

And when some people are like “omg gimme a CoHo male love interest” I’m like omg you all need therapy

camilla_reads t1_j6i1v4t wrote

I worry for young people posting that kinda thing tbh like... you really think Miles from Ugly Love or whatever his name is from November 9 are "goals"? Please, seek help.

honestlyicba t1_j6i3e9r wrote

I found it horrifying when I saw CoHo in the YA section of my local bookstore.

camilla_reads t1_j6i4mrm wrote

Noooooooooo. Although saying that, she DOES have some YA books apparently. I've only ever read her adult ones though so I couldn't comment on what kind of relationships they portray but I think I'll go with: probably also toxic and problematic 🙃

honestlyicba t1_j6i4xzb wrote