Submitted by LawrenceSan t3_10myl64 in boston

There's an article about another mishap on the Green Line last night:

Passengers sent walking through tunnels after Green Line shutdown

(BTW, a bot here is likely to send me an email complaining that our beloved MBTA doesn't have "Lines", it has "Branches"… it always sends me that… of course the article itself, and everybody I know, calls them "Lines". Oh well.)

By comparison… many years ago, I was stuck in a train tunnel under the East River in New York City for about an hour… not only was that kind of scary, thinking about all that water over our heads, and no announcements from the train crew as to why we weren't moving… but also I was a high-school teacher at the time, commuting from Brooklyn to my job in Manhattan, thinking about all my students sitting there wondering what had happened to me. Pretty upsetting.

I guess this little mishap yesterday wasn't as bad… although walking along the tracks wouldn't be fun, but there's no electric third-rail on the Green Line (excuse me, Branch), right? OTOH, we seem to have far more mishaps here than the (comparatively solid) NYC subway system. And I guess walking along the tracks is better than climbing out a window to escape a fire, and maybe jumping off a bridge!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

petal_in_the_corner t1_j65znap wrote

It's sad that people having to evacuate through the tunnels happens enough that it doesn't even seem newsworthy around here anymore.

DumbshitOnTheRight t1_j6623s7 wrote

Incidents like this are why my bag has a flashlight.

Anustart15 t1_j66lqqg wrote

>BTW, a bot here is likely to send me an email complaining that our beloved MBTA doesn't have "Lines", it has "Branches"… it always sends me that… of course the article itself, and everybody I know, calls them "Lines". Oh well.