Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Bookrecswelcome t1_j1kqmmi wrote

Because his teacher says things like, “it would be nice to see Michael warm”. I am also a teacher. Can I just say, fuck that lady!

NeilHanlon t1_j1kqyr1 wrote

I'm going to be the worst parent when I have kids.

mind your own business. like let's not make a value judgement about the ability of a parent to be able to provide warm clothing for their children at the whims of a kid.

kids get hot! it happens! bodies are different! lol

I remember my mom having to write a note saying I was allowed to go out for recess in only a sweatshirt. absolute lunacy. if a child says theyre not cold, perhaps we should listen.

edit to add: not "mind your own business" to yall.. to the nosey teachers 😉

DoomdUser t1_j1lodkp wrote

> if a child says theyre not cold, perhaps we should listen.

You’ll revisit this statement when you have a toddler. I get what you’re saying, but sometimes it’s literally not as simple as “just listen to them”, because they will kill themselves and others around them.

NeilHanlon t1_j1mnh3q wrote

lol. Theres a difference between a toddler and a 7 year old.

But please, go off.

DoomdUser t1_j1mrmqx wrote

No need to be a smart ass.

> I’m going to be the worst parent when I have kids.

So you are just speculating, but you don’t actually know. Yeah there are a lot of differences between a 3 year old and a 7 year old, but can you give a percentage to determine exactly how much better at making decisions a 7 year old is than a 3 year old? How much more reliable are they verbally? It’s also heavily dependent on the actual kid - I would trust my 2 year old more in some situations than I would trust some od the high school kids I teach.