Submitted by ConnectionFluffy7297 t3_110pd89 in newhampshire

Hunting regulations in NH state that a hunter may take 3 snowshoe hares per day for six months out of the year. This implies that the population must be very high (by comparison a hunter may only take a single whitetail deer per year). This is corroborated by historical hunting literature which frequently describes hare and rabbit species in general as being prolific breeders, to the point where survival manuals warn against trying to live off hare/rabbit alone ("rabbit starvation"), which suggests that the animal is so common and easy to harvest that one might end up focusing his hunting efforts on it alone out of laziness or something. Outdoor lore is awash with references to rabbit snares, 22s for rabbits, light rabbit loads for big game rifles, etc.

Yet I've been exploring the forests of New England for almost 20 years, from the northern tip of Coos county to the Mohawk forests in MA, and in my experience, hares and rabbits of any kind are by far the rarest animal to encounter in the woods. In a given year I will see dozens of deer and moose and hundreds of turkey, grouse, squirrel, porcupines, foxes, etc for every solitary hare/rabbit I see in nature. I have literally seen more bobcats in person than hares or rabbits.