Submitted by brutalistgarden t3_znu3de in newhaven

Hi everyone,

I'm a 28-year-old researcher who recently arrived at Yale a couple of weeks ago. I'm not really sure what the bar scene is like in New Haven, so any recommendations would be much appreciated. I'm looking for places that are casual and have a good atmosphere for making new friends. I'm also hoping to find places that aren't too expensive and stay open late. If you have any recommendations for bars that meet these criteria, please let me know! I'm always open to trying new places and making new friends, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

snickylo t1_j0jwe0w wrote

Blue Orchid has late night happy hour from 10-12 on Fridays and Saturdays. It's a great place to meet people and you can actually have conversations because it doesn't get too loud or crowded.

ProgMM t1_j0jojoo wrote

I’m a 24-year-old local, and in my experience, a lot of the bars listed here are not conducive to making friends. Admittedly, this may be more indicative of my personality as well as that of my old friends, but my experience in Barcade and Trinity is seeing pre-existing friends stay in their insular groups.

100percent100percent t1_j0m2bc9 wrote

Agreed. Im older than you but this whole "just go out and make friends thing" is kinda BS. I've met a TON of people I get along with or talk to a bit when I see them out, but nothing ever turns into a real friendship.

I think good friends are just ultra rare to begin with, and if you didn't go to college or take a traditional career path, it's incredibly difficult to make close friends.

Phonervia t1_j0jdeti wrote

Barcade, bar, ordinary come to mind

m11cb t1_j0jqszn wrote

This is not a bar but i've heard great things about Elm City Games

Phonervia t1_j0kxim6 wrote

Was going to mention it, it’s fantastic. I go on occasion and pick up games. Very solid place.