Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

rainforestguru t1_itvhxs4 wrote

How many years until climate sensitive areas are fked? Geologist here 🤙🏼

lexilous t1_itvp8cw wrote

I'm not an expert on that, but huge climate migration is expected by mid-century already - I've seen estimates of anywhere from ~150 million to ~1 billion. In general, the frequency of extremes will be increasing gradually but consistently. These changes would typically include more intense and/or frequent extreme precipitation and heat waves; and even if overall precipitation totals stay the same or increase, it being delivered in these very intense extreme events with less light and moderate rain in between will increase the likelihood of drought. Rapid intensification of hurricanes/typhoons has increased as well, and will likely continue to do so in the future. So that would be an influence in many tropical and subtropical regions. I would worry about the greatest danger for short-term catastrophic changes being in regions that already experience extreme drought, fire, life-threatening heat, or monsoons, all of which stand to be intensified by climate change. Anyway, as for a specific time frame - I don't have an answer beyond...it's already becoming a problem, and will only get worse over the next few decades.

InsuranceToTheRescue t1_itvsaob wrote

To add to this, we will see sea level rise over the next century that will force the majority of the globe's population to go somewhere else or invest in expensive infrastructure projects like massive sea walls. The mass migrations will strain, and in some places break, food supply chains. There is likely going to be massive social upheaval to accompany all of this.

On one somewhat bright note, we have likely avoided a hothouse Earth, where a feedback loop begins and the planet becomes too warm to support human life. This also assumes that our estimates for methane in polar regions is somewhat accurate.

Vallkyrie t1_itwg76e wrote