Submitted by passamaquedey t3_11dj5eo in personalfinance

I graduated college in May 2022 I have about 31k in student loans. In November I got a job with a salary of 60k, I currently live with my parents so my expenses are pretty low. Currently student loan payment is paused till June 2023, and I’m not sure if I will qualify for student loan forgiveness if it gets passed through. What is the best approach for paying off my student loans.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

84740296169 t1_ja8x7p1 wrote

Depends on the Interest Rate of the Loans.

passamaquedey OP t1_ja8xv7t wrote

I have 9 total loans they interest varies between 3-5% depending on the loan.

Stock-Freedom t1_ja8xl2u wrote

Yes, if they are high or medium interest loans.

Follow the flowchart.

My generic advice:

https://i.imgur.com/lSoUQr2.png

Here is the flowchart from the r/personalfinance subreddit’s Prime Directive. If you follow that, you will be ahead of almost all of your peers.

Stop by the sidebar to see the Common Topics, which include basic money handling and investing.

You don’t need to talk to anyone or buy some random book to do this. You have all the tools right here.

GeorgeRetire t1_ja917rs wrote

>What is the best approach for paying off my student loans.

Once the pause ends, pay off the highest rate debt first, while paying the minimum on all others.

passamaquedey OP t1_ja92diq wrote

So I shouldn’t make any payments before the pause ends?

swb1003 t1_ja9gat7 wrote

God no, if they’re in deferment. Wait and see what happens first, save the cash now and then make payments once they start. Why spend money now if nobody’s asking for it, it’s not accruing interest, and there’s no penalty for not paying?

Edit to add that I am but a layperson with one student loan left in deferment and this is my approach. Ymmv

GeorgeRetire t1_jaalx6b wrote

Why pay something today, when it costs you nothing to wait?

Just make sure you have the money when the time comes.