Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

littlegreenrock t1_iqu4jps wrote

in HS i saw the grey moth in England, soot, turned black article. was told it was evolution, just as you learned. years later I did my science degree and discovered that this was a lie, it's selection not evolution

years later I find myself in a HS teaching biology. today it's that same moth, evolution. "you guys realise that this isn't evolution, it's selection, right?" this is the way we're going to teach it.

you are a product of this.

it's not evolution, it's merely selection and variance. two things needed for evolution to occur, this isn't evolution.

−2

jazzman7838 t1_iqu7y22 wrote

I would love for you to explain what you think evolution is, if it’s not this.

Evolution is the change in heritable characteristics over generations. That is what’s being documented here. It’s micro evolution, but it’s evolution. Selection is ONE pressure causing evolution. The selection is the increased radiation environment around Chernobyl that favors individuals with more melanin. But the higher proportion of individuals with increased melanin in the population over time? That’s evolution bruh.

littlegreenrock t1_iqublp1 wrote

there's no such a thing as micro evolution. what you're referring to is called selection

jazzman7838 t1_iqucpr2 wrote

Selection is the pressure. Evolution is the result. You have a bad understanding of the terms and hopefully are not passing this bad understanding to your pupils. Read what people with PhDs in evolutionary biology have to say on the matter.

What’s an example of evolution based on your understanding?

littlegreenrock t1_iquhtes wrote