Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

autotldr t1_j02p18y wrote

This is the best tl;dr I could make, original reduced by 78%. (I'm a bot)

> Researchers say they have successfully completed a trial of a personalised cancer vaccine that uses the same messenger-RNA technology as Covid jabs.

> Moderna's chief medical officer Paul Burton said: "This is a significant finding. It's the first randomised-trial testing of an mRNA therapeutic in cancer patients."It's shown a 44% relative reduction in the risk of dying of cancer or having your cancer progress.

> Dr Sam Godfrey from Cancer Research UK, said: "There is unlikely to be a single cure for cancer and we must focus on ways to tailor treatment for patients.

Extended Summary | FAQ | Feedback | Top keywords: cancer^#1 patients^#2 vaccine^#3 treatment^#4 new^#5

herewego199209 t1_j02jeeo wrote

Obviously, I don't know what the fuck I'm talking about since I'm not a scientist or an oncologist, but wouldn't it make more sense to develop technology that tracks cancer cell replication before it turns into full-blown cancer? Like let's say, and this is some futuristic sci-fi shit so hang with me here, you swallowed a capsule and that capsule lived inside of you and just tracked your cell replication, and then when it detects abnormal mutations it triggers you to get your blood checked to catch any signs of cancer forming and it can be eliminated before it turns into cancer. Most cancers if they can catch it early or before there's a tumor they're 100 percent treatable. Maybe they're already working on alternate versions of this idea, but I think with regards to cures for cancer it's been practically a century and it seems like we've made a small dent with immunotherapies and a few other things, but the dent is just not a big as you'd think with the money poured into the research and development of these things.

−2

isnotgoingtocomment t1_j02nifo wrote