Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

vacuum_everyday t1_j8jw7sv wrote

Utahn here, Rio Tinto is not a good neighbor.

The Salt Lake Valley usually has the worst air pollution nationally/globally during the winter months as it’s set in a bowl and the temperature inversion traps everything until a storm blows it away. This mine contributes to 30% of all pollution, that’s 10x more than the next polluter that is the Chevron refinery.

And this is not mentioning their hazardous spills, or the trendy/high income Daybreak neighborhood that’s built of former polluted mine land. Fun fact: you’re not allowed to any grow food in the ground there.

halffullpenguin t1_j8kim3s wrote

Im sorry what? I am an environmental geologist who was trained at the university of Utah. I have studied this subject in depth. everything you have said is completely wrong. industry as a whole accounts for around 10% of Utah's air pollution. I have never seen a single publication putting Kennecott's numbers anywhere close to 30% the highest number I have ever seen for them was 18% of total pollutants and that was including every gram of overburden moved. also daybreak exists as part of a massive cleanup project. all of that land has been cleaned to an inch of its life and millions of dollars have been put into cleaning up the water in that area.

vacuum_everyday t1_j8ln30u wrote

That stat was pulled from the Utah Physicians for a Healthy environment, link. I recognize this is an interest group.