Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Ill-Poet-3298 t1_it9qouc wrote

Command adhesive thingies are great for this.

dalekaup t1_it9zcap wrote

In practice I find these rip off the paint. I know how to use them. I was a nurse for a good while and the first use for this adhesive was Tegaderm adhesive bandages, 2nd use was Duoderm. Command strips came later.

You stretch them to 3-4 times their natural length and the adhesive releases. Good luck on painted walls though.

Ill-Poet-3298 t1_it9zil2 wrote

> the first use for this adhesive was Tegaderm adhesive bandages, 2nd use was Duoderm.

That's interesting, I didn't know that. Kind of like how krazy glue was originally used for wound sealing.

leviwhite9 t1_itavirz wrote

Cyanoacrylate glue is still used probably almost universally in medical settings for wound closure.

sofa_king_ugly t1_itbav0n wrote

My thumbnail is damaged and is separating. I drenched it with gel Krazy glue to hold it together. My intention was to get by without snagging it on anything until I can get to a nail salon (I'm a guy who works in a remote industrial setting) but I just dressed it smooth and it seems incredibly durable. I'll probably just leave it as-is and let it grow out

leviwhite9 t1_itbblcp wrote

Hell yeah brother.

You ever see the liquid skin stuff? It's sold in bandaid aisle usually.

It's pretty much the same, more rubbery though. I use it on hangnails because I've an awful habit of once they start I dig at them until I see bone.

sofa_king_ugly t1_itbc3a7 wrote

I had a bottle of "New Skin" on hand but it only held up for about a day. Which is pretty good considering how many times the damp gloves go on and off. I cut a nail 2/3 across with a handsaw a few years ago - through the glove - it was a mess. I went to a nail salon and had a clear UV-cured gel applied over what was left and wow is that stuff tough.

pseudocultist t1_itbmg1q wrote