Submitted by jjmoreta t3_11cqpjo in DIY

House was built in mid-70's. Kitchen needs 2 new outlets at counter level. I also want to add GFCI protection to bathroom outlets near sink. I have basic electrical knowledge, enough to shut off breakers, use voltage tester to verify if a wire is hot and screw a wire in. I just put up a new light fixture outside, so I think I can replace an outlet or light switch.

These outlets haven't had a face plate on them for years (project left undone by ex) and I don't trust them (one of them sparked once). Plus I found out about the new codes so I want to make sure I'm safe and just replace them out instead of just putting a faceplate on them. I don't have the electrical know-how yet to figure out which one of the 2 outlets may be first in the branch, if they're wired like that. So same for both to be safe. I need to check the breaker to confirm 15/20 amp but existing outlets are only 15 amp.

However I also have 2 wall outlets (next to the sinks) in my bathrooms that don't even have GFCI protection. I want to take care of both of those too. Per code, they don't need AFCI too (both are on a bathroom-only circuit). But do I *want* AFCI too? I can't see where it would *hurt* anything except my pocket book. Leviton has them for around $40 a piece for dual outlet. I want to be safest and I want to future-proof in case they add AFCI to bathrooms too.

Cost from Amazon (haven't researched anywhere else yet for pricing):

4 pack of GFCI only Leviton for $34.85 (I can afford this for all of them easily)

1 pack of dual-function Leviton for $33.41 (this is a bit harder for me to bear right now)