Submitted by tmblweeds t3_zn0juq in MachineLearning

tl;drI built a site that uses GPT-3.5 to answer natural-language medical questions using peer-reviewed medical studies.

Live demo: https://www.glaciermd.com/search

Background

I've been working for a while on building a better version of WebMD, and I recently started playing around with LLMs, trying to figure out if there was anything useful there.

The problem with the current batch of "predict-next-token" LLMs is that they hallucinate—you can ask ChatGPT to answer medical questions, but it'll either

1. Refuse to answer (not great)
  2. Give a completely false answer (really super bad)

So I spent some time trying to coax these LLMs to give answers based on a very specific set of inputs (peer-reviewed medical research) to see if I could get more accurate answers. And I did!

The best part is you can actually trace the final answer back to the original sources, which will hopefully instill some confidence in the result.

Here's how it works:

1. User types in a question
  2. Pull top ~800 studies from Semantic Scholar and Pubmed
  3. Re-rank using sentence-transformers/multi-qa-MiniLM-L6-cos-v1
  4. Ask text-davinci-003 to answer the question based on the top 10 studies (if possible)
  5. Summarize those answers using text-davinci-003

Would love to hear what people think (and if there's a better/cheaper way to do it!).

---

UPDATE 1: So far the #1 piece of feedback has been that I should be way more explicit about the fact that this is a proof-of-concept and not meant to be taken seriously. To that end, I've just added a screen that explains this and requires you to acknowledge it before continuing.

​

https://preview.redd.it/jrt0yv3rfb6a1.png?width=582&format=png&auto=webp&s=38021decdfc7ed4bc3fe8caacaee2d09cd9b541e

Thoughts?