Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Wemmsie OP t1_j994aau wrote

Layer 2 reminds me of the location of all my brackets and symbols for web dev, arrow keys, and num pad. Not color coded are media controls and F keys. I also set up color-indicated caps lock with tap dance on my shift key. Took a couple days to learn C basics and stumble through QMK docs, but I'm thrilled with the result!! I couldn't have done it without the community. (Edited keeb deets x2)

Git repo for keymap and config edits - I am no pro, use at your own risk

Keycaps: Amazon LTC Lava Caps PBT Pudding - they don't sound great, too clacky, but I can't find any other shine-throughs that I want to stare at all day

Blank keycaps for thumb keys: Amazon YMDK Keys - these actually sound and feel amazing?!

Switches: Gateron Black Inks 2.0 lubed, filmed, modded with 45g springs - I get the occasional accidental key presses, but I'm a light touch typer. These are way better than the stock 70g for me!

Rubber cone feet for minimal tent: Amazon rubber bumpers

https://preview.redd.it/cfmu9misebja1.jpeg?width=3736&format=pjpg&auto=webp&v=enabled&s=f209cabdac68dbc59177328c76e8e98dfa68a9a8

BlackMoth27 t1_j9a3d17 wrote

if you get good at touch typing it might be helpful to put your second layer keycaps on so you can at a glance know where to push them when you need them.

Leopard854 t1_j99jd9v wrote

Pudding key caps are very fitting here

Chicken_McNublets t1_j994d68 wrote

Like us know how long it takes lol. I wanna know if I should dive into alice layouts next...

Wemmsie OP t1_j994x82 wrote

So far a few lessons on Keybr have done wonders. I still stumble with V, X, and Z and of course all the new modifiers and symbols. My typing speed was originally 110 wpm on a good day and I'm at around 90 already. It's surprisingly intuitive and wildly more comfortable on the wrists and hands! I feel like Alices are similar to this, I'd say go for it.

nmarshall23 t1_j9a24xd wrote