Submitted by lalune13 t3_1015j5z in Pennsylvania

Hi everyone! I (32/F) am from Phoenix, AZ and have been considering moving to PA. I was attracted to Pittsburgh at first but recently came across Munhall in my search (it was listed as being one of PA's safest areas and seems to be rather affordable from what I can tell - correct me if I'm wrong). I would like to live in an area with access to public transportation as I do not have a car. I am also an artist so I would love to get involved with the local art scene if at all possible.

Does anyone here live in or has lived in Munhall that can give me any insight into living in this borough? Between Munhall and Pittsburgh, which would you suggest for someone like myself? Thank you!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

KyleVanderpump t1_j2lwabq wrote

Munhall is considered a suburb and won't have as many transportation opportunities that the city would have.

PGHNeil t1_j2mu3em wrote

Munhall is safe but it borders Homestead which is not. There are regularly shooting there in the early AM hours that are reputedly gang related. That being said, Homestead is pretty much a bigger draw with regards to dining and nightlife than West Mifflin which borders it to the south. You just have to be mindful of crossing the train tracks because some pretty long ones roll through Homestead during all hours of the day and there's no going around the crossings. The nearest access to the Parkway is to go across either the Homestead High Level or Glenwood bridge but the on ramp is in Squirrel Hill and it can be a nightmare during rush hour.

[deleted] t1_j2mtczp wrote

Check out Carnegie. I live there and there’s a bus station in the small borough that will take you into the city in 10-15 minutes. It’s a busway so minimal stops. We have a really nice business district. I’m a photographer/illustrator myself. We have a farmers market in the summer I sell my stuff at.