Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

zoogwah t1_iuricvq wrote

They are formally referred to as myofascial trigger points. The scientific evidence surrounding them is messy and controversial. It's generally accepted that a trigger point is simply a small area of contracted muscle, like a small cramp or spasm. There's also an hypothesis that sometimes a knot/trigger point might not feel hard or tight to the touch when palpating, and is instead a phenomenon related to sensory disturbance.

So to answer the question, it would probably just look like regular muscle, perhaps contracted.

BebopFlow t1_iusjjot wrote

I'm a massage therapist. Knot is really a catch-all with no definition, which causes a lot of confusion. A person is often referring to the phenomena of trigger points, but the plain truth is that very few people who have "knots" have trigger points in my experience. There's a distinct texture to a trigger point and pattern of response, and the method to release a trigger point is different from what you'd use on generalized muscle tightness. In most cases people that come to me complaining of knots just have a generalized muscle tightness caused by poor posture exacerbated by either lack of movement or lack of movement variety. I see 2-3 dozen or so new clients a month, outside of my regulars, and I'd say that I encounter a proper trigger point maybe twice a month on average or less. My specialty is in myofascial massage utilizing structural integration techniques and philosphy, so it would stand to reason that I'd be more likely to encounter people with trigger points since they'd self select, right? (Structural integration is a somewhat broad subset of myofascial massage with the intent of balancing the relative tension between muscular groups in order to relieve pain or increase range of motion, usually through utilization of targeted stretching, active/passive mobilization, and targeted deep tissue work)