Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

WilliamMinorsWords t1_ja1ew09 wrote

"Karens" implies middle aged women.

This is not that.

This is a coordinated attack by organized conservative groups in order to drum up publicity and engagement, likely for an election that's coming up in your area. There might be a bond issue for the library that will be on the ballot that they want voted down.

Whatever the issue, they are trying to rile up the conservative base with a red herring about what's available at the library.

Instead of blaming this on unseen women, put the blame where it belongs - on the wider, organized conservative political action groups that are so well funded that they have the time and money to focus on random public libraries throughout the country

Jynx_lucky_j t1_ja1p5xw wrote

Hi I'm a librarian, while the exact rules and procedures may vary a bit state by state, this will largely be in the hands of the Library Board. I would find out when they meet and ask to be put on the agenda. It would help if you could get a bit of a crowd together that supports your side to attend the meeting as well, and/or get as many people as you can to sign a petition for their integration.

The truth is that usually not many people show up to library board meetings, so it really doesn't take much to make a strong showing. So if you can show that there is strong support in the community for the integration of LGBTQ+ materials you would have a very good chance.

Beyond that find out their meeting schedule and attend the meeting regularly. They are open to the public and and it will help you keep abreast of what is going on at you local library and any challenges they are facing.

It could also be useful to join your local Friends of the Library group. While they don't have any official authority over the library, they tend to be a major source of donations and volunteers at the library and as such tend to be fairly influential.

BakeKnitCode t1_ja1fuv0 wrote