Submitted by jeffkeyrouz87 t3_11vu6pw in boston

Hello Everyone! I am going to be staying in Newton for business for around 2 weeks. Oddly enough, I decided to finally cross off a bucket list item: learn to drive a manual transmission. I searched everywhere online and could not find a driving school that provides lessons. Can you guys point me to a certain school or does anyone know someone who is willing to teach me (of course paid).

Background information: I am an adult and great driver, just never learned to drive manual.

Thanks šŸ™

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

3720-To-One t1_jcuuuty wrote

Does this even exist?

Almost anyone I know who can drive manual had their parent teach them when they were first learning to drive.

I personally learned myself in college at a summer job on a small utility vehicle we had to use.

RhaenyrasUncle t1_jcvkmx7 wrote

Buddy of mine bought a used truck one time, sight unseen. We drove all the way to the Cape to pick it up. It was a stick. He didnt know how to drive stick (and at the time, I did not either).

He drove all the way back to Dorchester...somehow.

About two weeks later the clutch was fried so he sold it.

BsFan t1_jcvk8qb wrote

I learned in my mid 20s when I decided to buy a Subaru STI, only knowing how it works and never having driven a manual. Had a buddy test drive it with me and just figured it out in the parking lot. Was living in Somerville at the time so the learning curve was fast. Very sink or swim. Almost every car including my new one has been a 6 speed and I'll never go back.

LoanWolf888 t1_jcv47x5 wrote

This place in Watertown Square which is close to Newton.

https://stickshiftacademy.com/

Claramini t1_jcv6q4v wrote