Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

TheConboy22 t1_j10ghvu wrote

I don't know how people do it. I cannot have a keyboard without a number pad.

orthographicview t1_j10uqvg wrote

I can not work without one. Some apps I use do different things when enter is pressed and when enter on the numpad pressed. Blender can technicaly be used without numpad, but it's so much better with one. If you use a keyboard for gaming and typing, sure, but if you need to do your job on one too, the lost desk real estate is worth it .

Undoninja5 t1_j11he99 wrote

I am an indie game developer who uses a 60% keyboard, definitely way harder than having a full keyboard + my equals key broke and switching out the switch doesn’t fix it and now I have to do, ctrl-shift-e every time I want to write an equals key, which is a lot when programming. Don’t skimp out on your keyboard kiddos

ExNihiloish t1_j1335mw wrote

If you have a key you never use, you can rebind it to produce =. Or make any key your want produce it with a single modifier.

Undoninja5 t1_j1338du wrote

Yeah sadly since it’s a 60% that thing is not working with excess keys, but at this point it barely impacts my typing speed

fogdukker t1_j10j2rn wrote

When I need to use one, I pull the usb numpad out from behind my monitor...

TheConboy22 t1_j10wza8 wrote

I use mine anytime I’m doing data entry.

fogdukker t1_j112euw wrote

Well then, you should probably have a numpad if you're doing data entry. Dummy.

TheConboy22 t1_j11b39x wrote

Of course. Hence my stance on them being needed. Do we not all do some form of data entry? How do people keep their books?

The_Condominator t1_j11f1b2 wrote

Are you that out of touch with the general populace?

TheConboy22 t1_j11j8rb wrote

I guess I should account for how reckless people are. In todays world you have to have some way to keep record of your finances or be destined to never having money

Tony2Punch t1_j11kczv wrote

50% of Americans live paycheck to paycheck