Submitted by petethebeat14 t3_1147tzb in headphones

Hey all,

Today I got the Diana TC’s and have a few things to say. I’m new to headphones and previously had a pair of Sennheiser Momentum’s. Those things sounded amazing. Super detailed, incredible bass. Not a great soundstage (or wideness), but I was impressed.

The Diana TC’s are just such a different experience. They’re quieter, seem to be far more delicate to being pumped a bit and like many of you have said, nearly any impactful bass. The sound is just so much more distant. I produce and mix my own music with varying headphones as well and I don’t know… these weirdly seem like a downgrade? Am I crazy?! Or not doing it right (choice of amp etc.)?!

I’m using a Meridian Prime as the headphone amp. Is this not powerful enough?

I’d love to hear anyone else’s thoughts. I really want to love these but due to the price point, it’s insane that I actually objectively think my Sennheiser Momentum’s sound better.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Zero_Aspect t1_j8uvzq2 wrote

Did you audition them somewhere first? Did you let them burn in? Never heard them (and never plan to) but from what I remember, Josh Valour said it was fairly amp picky in that it emphasizes the amp's sound qualities.

−8

petethebeat14 OP t1_j8v0vt7 wrote

I didn’t audition, no. Could you explain burn in? I played them a bunch tonight so hopefully that helps.

Interesting about amps. Do I really have to shell out thousands on an amp for these to sound better? I knew they’d be an investment but having to do all these additional upgrades seem to defeat the purpose of spending all the money on these!

blargh4 t1_j8v4e5h wrote

Is there a reason you picked it out? Seems like jumping in on the deep end - not really great idea if you don’t know what kind of sound signatures you like/dislike.