Submitted by ICrySaI t3_zxemi0 in headphones

To be clear, I know how the graph works (I think). I just don't know why everyone is talking about it.

I'm kind of new to this whole audiophile / headphone hobby and I'm seeing that every reviewer talks about the frequency response graph where it shows how loud the headphones are at different frequencies. It's a very useful graph to see which parts of the music it emphasizes and if it would fit your tastes. The problem is that it seems like the only metric they care about, and they judge the whole sound of the headphones on this one graph.

It seems strange to me since this is something that you can customize with EQ? So isn't it one of the less important statistics since you can change it yourself?

When I put on a good set of headphones and then some 10$ earbuds the main difference I notice is not that it has a different amount of bass or treble, it's that the audio quality in general is much worse. And that's not really about the loudness at different frequencies. At least I don't think so...

So is there a metric of how well a headphone reproduces sound in general? And if so why don't reviewers use it? Am I missing something?

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

mcjasonb t1_j1zy5rs wrote

There are some that say that frequency response is everything and all that matters. Saying that frequency response alone is responsible for literally everything including imaging, soundstage, detail retrieval, bass slam, you name it.

Also, not everyone wants to use EQ.

ICrySaI OP t1_j205mqd wrote

I get that but I do use EQ, so when looking at reviews I'm more interested in the stuff I can't change about a headphone, not the stuff I can.

goldfish_memories t1_j20b3di wrote

Since headphones are minimum phase devices, all those other things, including separation, speed, imaging, and soundstage, do depend on the frequency response.