Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

duncan345 t1_j7ck2d9 wrote

Surveyors have been burying metal markers to establish boundary lines for a long time. The Public Land Survey System started in 1785 in the US. I'm a real estate attorney and I regularly come across legal descriptions that refer to a buried rod, or an old axle, or some other metal object. A couple weeks ago I saw one from the 1800s that used an old gun barrel. It's still common practice for surveyors to set metal pins or rods into the ground to help people find boundary lines. Sometimes you'll see the head of these pins in the centerline of public roads.

silverfox762 t1_j7d4crh wrote

In the 1980s in California I put a lot of 2' lengths of rebar in property corners for new subdivisions and property line disputes in the SF Bay Area. I've seen everything in old surveys from old axles to even a giant pipe wrench once.

Magnergy t1_j7dwfj7 wrote

Did anyone ever come over while you were surveying and offer you a bribe to move the line a bit for them?

silverfox762 t1_j7enih7 wrote

Nope. We were a civil engineering firm, paid well, above board, and everything was plotted by and on instruments based on county records.

PorkRindSalad t1_j7ee9q0 wrote

I wonder what keeps people from just hammering their own rebar down and claiming that's where the line is. Wouldn't even have to remove the first one, just create enough confusion to get away with adjusting the new fence line.

silverfox762 t1_j7enn8z wrote