Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Sweaty_Conclusion_80 t1_iz4lxev wrote

I am a New Haven cop, so I’m pretty familiar. That sucks that’s been your experience, but in my science there’s different degrees and causes of “horrible.” Some of those are the fault of the officer, some are more bureaucratic, state law, etc.

mariegalante t1_iz7aycf wrote

I appreciate you identifying yourself. I’ve lived & worked in and near New Haven most of my life. I wish things were different but I have never found NHPD to be helpful, at best neglectful and the worst was having to report a crime and then getting literally screamed at by the responding officer that I was lying. It was terrifying.

You are right, there are a lot of factors at play in my experiences and within the policing environment in New Haven. But I can’t really imagine a scenario where I would call the NHPD and not worry that it was going to blow up in my face.

I wish it were better for all our sakes.

Sweaty_Conclusion_80 t1_iz7gfea wrote